BLOCKCHAIN AI.NEWS

Infrastructure

DTCC's Tokenization Service Is Live for 34 Securities. Its Own Press Release Never Says So

The Depository Trust Company switched on its Tokenization Service on October 28. The press release lists every participant by name and says the eligible pool is $114 trillion. The figure that tells you what you can actually tokenize is on a different page.

Blockchain AI News default cover graphic
✓ Pre-launch figures first reported by RWAToday · DTCC's October 28 press release and Tokenization Service product page read by this desk · CoinDesk and Unchained · Nov 1

On October 28, the Depository Trust Company, the DTCC subsidiary that holds the ledger for most American securities, announced that its Tokenization Service is live. The release names 20 participants, from Barclays and Bank of America to Citadel Securities, Fidelity and J.P. Morgan. It names the two networks, Canton and DTCC's private Besu chain. It says DTC has more than $114 trillion in assets under custody. What it does not say is how many securities a participant can tokenize today.

That number is on DTCC's product page, which says "34 securities available to tokenize at launch." The page does not list them. CoinDesk reports the same count, attributing it to the product site and a DTCC spokesperson, and puts their market value at about $30 trillion.

Three numbers for one launch

Before the launch, the figure was different. RWAToday ran a launch preview on October 19 and corrected it on October 23. Its corrected version describes 25 initial securities drawn from an eligible pool of about $30 trillion, and it also fixed an earlier version that had treated the whole $114 trillion custody pool as the launch scope. The 25 figure appears to predate the product page's 34. This desk could not find a DTCC document that explains the difference, and did not establish whether the list grew, or whether the earlier number was an estimate.

The $114 trillion figure has its own life. At least one aggregator headline, from Genfinity, frames the launch as covering securities in $114 trillion of custody. DTCC's release says only that DTC holds that much. The scope of the SEC's no-action letter is narrower: Russell 1000 constituents, exchange-traded funds that track major indices, and U.S. Treasury securities.

What each source says about the launch scope

SourceSecuritiesValue cited
RWAToday, corrected Oct 2325 initialAbout $30 trillion eligible pool
DTCC press release, Oct 28Not statedMore than $114 trillion under custody
DTCC product page; CoinDesk34 at launchAbout $30 trillion (CoinDesk, citing a DTCC spokesperson)
From the sources linked in the receipt line above, read by this desk on November 1.

Twenty signatures are not twenty users

The participant count is similarly specific and similarly thin. The release says 20 DTC participants have signed agreements and that others will be added on a rolling basis. The right caveat is that the figure reflects signed agreements, not confirmed activity, and the release gives no number for who has actually tokenized anything or at what volume.

Compare it with the pilot. On July 15, DTCC said more than 30 firms had run limited production trades, and the working group behind the service numbers more than 150 firms, according to the release. The launch roster is shorter than either. That is not alarming, since an onboarding queue is normal, but it means the headline number for a "live" service is the smallest of the three.

Eligibility is also undefined. The release says "eligible users" can convert entitlements between traditional and tokenized form and send them to wallets of their choice; it does not say who is eligible or whether a client of a participant can ask for a token directly. The product page's FAQ is described as covering that, but the page text this desk could retrieve does not state it.

Two chains, no stated bridge

The release describes a multi-network, interoperable model and says more networks arrive in 2027. It does not say which securities or clients sit on Canton and which on Besu, and it does not describe any limit on moving a token from one to the other. CoinDesk reports the planned additions as Stellar and Circle's Arc; DTCC's own release says only "additional blockchain networks," so treat the names as CoinDesk's reporting rather than DTCC's.

The condition from December still applies

This desk reported in September that the December 2025 SEC staff letter requires DTC not to ascribe collateral or settlement value to a tokenized entitlement when it calculates a participant's Net Debit Cap or Collateral Monitor, and that the letter is withdrawn three years from the launch of the pilot it covers. The October 28 release mentions the letter but not those terms. CoinDesk lists tools for using tokenized securities as collateral among planned additions. Whether the launched service is the exact "Preliminary Base Version" the letter describes is something the release does not say, so this desk is not asserting the three-year clock started on October 28.

One operating detail is reported only by CoinDesk: conversions happen during business hours with a target of 15 minutes or less, and tokens can move between registered wallets around the clock subject to compliance restrictions. DTCC's release, as read by this desk, does not state either.

The Take

Nothing here suggests the launch is not real. DTC is a regulated utility, the firms are named, and the service does what it says. But a launch announcement is the document where a company is most tempted to count the biggest thing available, and "$114 trillion" is that number. The figure that matters for the next six months is the small one on the product page, and the one nobody has published yet: how many of the 34 securities have a token outstanding, and whose.

More on the subject